Our Love Affair with Coffee. What's your plan?
Facts about Coffee consumption and single serve business
Examples and benchmarks:
647 Wawa stores, goes through enough coffee—195 million cups—to fill Shamu's tank more than 11 times. That signature coffee, introduced in the 1970s, is proprietary, and available only in Wawa stores. That math for your consideration on joining the private label single serve Coffee game: 195 million / 647 stores = 301,391 cups of coffee or 5,795 cups of coffee per week, per store, which brews up to about 827 single serves per day per outlet.
Coffee Shop Sales & Marketing Tips:
Coffee shop customers, by nature, are looking for something special — that’s why they are willing to pay so much for a cup of coffee! Many customers of the big national chains, while satisfied with their daily coffee would be intrigued to find a local coffee that is different. So, when you are considering whether to start or open a coffee shop, here are some suggestions that might help your business stand apart from the traditional coffee shop scene:
Offer unique products (specialized roasts, local ingredients, locally themed or named drinks, custom drinks by your ‘star’ or attraction, etc.)
Try leaving out games, puzzles, mind benders and other activities that encourage customers to linger over their coffee
Host or sponsor local events (entertainment, readings, book clubs, etc.)
Use technology to creatively compete in marketing with the big chains — services like FourSquare,Yelp, and Google Places can increase your visibility in your local market.
Deliver amazing service from knowledgeable baristas — spend lots of time training your staff and consider using online services like the American Coffee & Barista School
Develop fun and interesting customer loyalty programs (consider going beyond the “buy 10, get 1 free” approach: create unique levels or ranks with different benefits, link offerings with other local merchants, etc.)
Be sure to sell coffee-related items (and track down any co-marketing opportunities with your local community related group sales in the area)
Amusement Parks: Can you sell your attraction branded coffee by the Tea Cup or Coffee Cup Ride?
Disney patrons will be able to get their Starbucks fix:
Disney (DIS), the world's largest theme park company, on Monday announced a deal with Starbucks (SBUX), the world's largest coffee chain, to open stores in its theme parks at Disneyland Park and Walt Disney World Resort.
The first of six Starbucks cafes will open in June at Disney California Adventure.
For Disney, which has often been criticized for the limited food and beverage choices at its parks, this is a huge move forward. For Starbucks, which is running out of ways to expand in the U.S., this is a slam-dunk move in a captive market ripe for growth.
YOU CAN BE A DISNEY STARBUCKS COMBO TOO! HIGH COFFEE PROFITS ON OUR BRANDED, GOURMET, 120 Ct SINGLE Serve CASES - AND:
IT"S ALL SELF SERVE. People love "POUR OVER" single serve coffee, they love to make it themselves. Just set up a single serve kCup bar in your best locations. We have private label machines available for you, branded with your shop or park name.
Average Cup Size
The average coffee cup size is 9 ounces.
30% of the population drinks coffee occasionally.
Time of Day
65% of all coffee is consumed during breakfast hours, 30% between meals, and the remaining 5% with other meals.
Coffee Shops Nationwide
35% of coffee drinkers prefer black coffee
65% prefer to add sugar and/or cream
Women indicated that drinking coffee is a good way to relax.
Men indicated that coffee helps them get the job done.
The United States imports in excess of $4 Billion worth of coffee per year.
Americans consume 400 million cups of coffee per day making the United States the leading consumer of coffee in the world.
On an average, 250 Cups of espresso and coffee drinks are sold per day at almost any espresso drive-thru business with a great visible location. (500 cups per day is extraordinary.)
Independent coffee shops manage to sell 31% of espresso-based drinks, while the rest is brewed coffee.
Our minimum order for branded single serve kCups is 200 cases 120 ct..
How many cases do you need?
How many food and beverage locations do you have? How many turnkey cafe or coffee counter bars can you add in likely gathering places? How many properties or parks do you have?
Let's say you have 18 branded attraction or themed specialty locations to divide our minimum order of 200 cases: nets 11 cases per location. 11 cases x 120 ct servings = 1,333 coffee servings per location, or just 190 coffee single serve sales per day, if sold 7 days a week during an average operating season of 108 operating days per year.
That's an estimated gross of 200 x 120 single servings = 24,000 servings sold. Average $3 each and your retail gross is $72,000.. Your average gross margin is 5 to 1 in gourmet, branded and specilaty flavors -
and - customers grab a product from the merchandise bin to ring up at register as they serve themselves
Packaged goods are also available at different price points so you can move your branded coffee in 12 pack boxes, to let patrons keep the allegaince of your special times brand with them at home.
Branded coffee ideas, and we handle them all for you:
Gourmet coffees, teas, and roasts options: with over 110 of the Top Sellling and most popular flavors for the coffee and tea profile.
Because females consume about two times more flavored coffee than males, be sure to include a similar ratio on all of your flavored coffee taste packaged product SKUs.
Adding Single Serve Coffee in Self Serve KCups to your Retail SKUs. A Simple Plan.
As the average coffee-espresso shop, cafe or drive-thru does a business of 250 cups per day.
If you add signage, perks and promotions,
One case of 120 ct kCup servings can get you through a half day attribute morning volume of 250 / daypart by 65% before noon = 120 servings.
Look at this another way:
If one case serves 120, than 2 cases will sell though 250 average daily business.
200 cases (minimum order per flavor / name brand or type) gets you through 100 days, or long form 200 cases x 120 ct servings = 24,000 serving sales
24,000 serving sales / 250 daily sales = 96 days. Figure three months or high average park season sell through per a calendar quarter.
Your retail gross is 24,000 x national average of $2.85 = $68,400.00 income
Average cost of just $12,600.00
Let’s say you add a flavor branded menu with different coffee drink SKUs and themed names:
Comic Shops: Try names of character or story lines: Dark Knight, Booster Gold, Daredevil – etc.,
Head Shops: Try names of strains: White Widow, Super Lemon Haze, Blueberry Haze
Theme Parks: likened attraction, ride and land names: Candyland, Palace Café, Main Street Café, Iron Horse or Dragon Train…
Surf and Action Sports Shops: Salty’s Caramel, Waverunner, Sharkhead, Street Surfer, etc,.
To set up a menu of SKUs:
Coffee, opt for maybe a medium roast, a dark roast, and perhaps two flavor profiles ( we have over 121 flavors available and can blend to taste) for 4 profile SKU items;
Tea, perhaps 4 more in teas, a black, a green, and again to flavored) for 4 more SKU items
You now have an easy 8 item board in self serve kCups, easily merchandised on 8 tier tray or dump bins; and simply set up 3 to 6 of our brand-able kCup machines for self service on a counter.
Simple Revenue Projections:
8 flavors x 200 cases each = 1,600 cases, will get you through 8 quarter seasons, or two years;
Dividing up each case for a delivery of 2 flavors per case is a simple one year plan.
800 cases x 120 ct = 96,000 single serves Gross retail at $273,600 annual target or goal, on average cost of $40,000 (if $50 per case)
Easy Aggressive: Each case in single flavor profile 8 flavors x 200 cases:
1,600 cases of one flavor each x 120 ct = 192,000 single serves Gross retail at $547,200 annual target or goal, average cost of $80,000 (if $50 per case)